Scorsese To Receive Award at Critic’s Choice Awards in January

by Eric Melin on December 6, 2011

in Blogs

Very cool news! I am a member of the BFCA and this is pretty exciting. Check it out:


(SANTA MONICA, CA – December 1, 2011) The Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) has announced that “Hugo” director Martin Scorsese will receive the Critics’ Choice Music+Film Award at the 17th annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards. The show will air live for the fifth straight year on VH1 from the Hollywood Palladium on Thursday, January 12, 2012 at 8:00 PM ET/PT.

Selected by the BFCA Board of Directors, the Music+Film Award honors a single filmmaker who has touched audiences through cinematic storytelling, and has heightened the impact of films through the brilliant use of source and original music. Beyond his unforgettable use of music in such classic films as “Mean Streets,” “GoodFellas,” “The Departed,” and most recently with “Hugo,” Martin Scorsese has taken his love of music even further by working with iconic artists on documentary/concert films including “The Last Waltz” with The Band, “Shine a Light” with the Rolling Stones, “No Direction Home” with Bob Dylan, and most recently the magical “George Harrison: Living in the Material World.”

The Critics’ Choice Movie Awards are bestowed annually by the BFCA to honor the finest in cinematic achievement. The BFCA is the largest film critics’ organization in the United States and Canada, representing more than 250 television, radio and online critics.  BFCA members are the primary source of information for today’s film going public.  The very first opinion a moviegoer hears about new releases at the multiplex or the art house usually comes from one of its members.

“This year’s Critics’ Choice Movie Awards marks another gratifying collaboration with the Broadcast Film Critics Association and our partners at VH1,” states Joey Berlin, BFCA President.  “With a very impressive lineup of films featuring the world’s biggest stars under consideration this year, we look forward to a truly spectacular show highlighted by the presentation of the Music+Film Award to Martin Scorsese, one of the greatest filmmakers of all time.”

Since its inception in 1995, the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards has been a star-studded bellwether event of the movie awards season.  Historically, the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards are the most accurate predictor of the Academy Award nominations. Last year, for example, all four of the acting category winners at the Oscars – Colin Firth, Natalie Portman, Christian Bale and Melissa Leo – first accepted their awards in the same categories at the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards.  In all, 18 of the 20 actors nominated for Oscars were first Critics’ Choice Movie Awards nominees. Quentin Tarantino received the inaugural Music+Film Award in 2011.

“The Critics Choice Movie Awards has grown into one of Hollywood’s biggest nights, often foretelling who will go on to win an Academy Award,” said Tom Calderone, President, VH1.  “We are proud to partner again with Joey Berlin and the entire BFCA to bring VH1 viewers an exclusive A-list experience that’s genuinely entertaining and high-energy as well.  We can’t wait to roll out our red carpet!”

The 17th Annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards, honoring the finest in cinematic achievement among 2011 film releases, will announce its nominees on Tuesday, December 13, 2011. Nominating ballots went out to BFCA members on December 5, 2011 with a deadline for returning them on December 11, 2011. Once the nominees are selected, final ballots will be sent to BFCA members on January 8, 2012 with a deadline for returning final ballots on January 10, 2012. For more information about the show visit, “Like” VH1 on Facebook, and follow @VH1 on Twitter and use the hashtag #CCMA to talk about the awards!

The 17th Annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards is executive produced by Jesse Ignjatovic for Den of Thieves, Joey Berlin for Berlin Entertainment and Lee Rolontz for VH1.

Eric is the Editor-in-Chief of and writes for The Pitch. He’s former President of the KCFCC, and drummer for The Dead Girls, Ultimate Fakebook, and Truck Stop Love . He is also Air Guitar World Champion Mean Melin. Eric goes to 11. Follow him at:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+ YouTube 

Leave a Comment


Previous post:

Next post: