essay about better safe than sorry campbell soup company case study beti bachao beti padhao essay in hindi poem how to write a business plan for agribusiness cover letter for courtroom clerk essay on political corruption in india budget business plan purpose

2011 Fantastic Awards announced from Fantastic Fest 2011!

by Eric Melin on September 27, 2011

in Blogs

Last night at the Alamo Drafthouse in Austin, TX, Fantastic Fest Creative Director Tim League hosted the 2011 Fantastic Awards.

From the FF2011 site:

Every winner had to chug a Shiner out of their mug-shaped award or select a proxy-drinker. Beer was drunk, beer was spilled, beer was poured. Also: artistry in independent and genre films was celebrated!

Fantastic Fest is excited to announce this year’s Fantastic Fest Award winners. Fantastic Fest 2011 brought us a time travelling samurai, a supernatural hallway in the woods, a deadly family reunion, and rampaging Cuban zombies. Picking favorites from this year’s line up was a formidable task to say the least, but our esteemed team of jurors have done the nearly impossible and chosen the best and most visionary films of the festival.

The juries were comprised of some of the most esteemed filmmakers, critics, festival directors and show biz people in the industry. Their thoughtful deliberations provided the following acknowledgments of cinematic excellence in all things Fantastic.

The audience awards are presented by accounting firm Maxwell Locke & Ritter (, who provided the certified tabulation of ballots this year and are the exclusive accounting sponsor of Fantastic Fest. AMD and Dell are the presenters of prestigious “Next Wave” Awards, which honor emerging filmmakers. The winner of the “Next Wave” feature award is presented with $1,000 and a Dell ( multimedia laptop provided by AMD ( The Fantastic Fest Awards ceremony is also presented by the Texas Motion Picture Alliance (, who advocate for film, video, commercial, interactive, and digital media production inside the state of Texas.

Translator Midori Inoue, KARATE ROBO ZABORGAR, Actor Demo Tanaka, and Special Effects FX Supervisor Yoshihiro Nishimura

AUDIENCE AWARD (Presented by Maxwell Locke & Ritter)
A Boy And His Samurai (Yoshihiro Nakamura)
Runners Up: You’re Next, Juan Of The Dead

Best Picture – Bullhead
Best Director – Michael R. Roskam (Bullhead)
Best Screenplay – Josh MacDonald (The Corridor)
Best Actor – Matthias Schoenaerts (Bullhead)
Best Actress – Jessica Cole (Aardvark)
Special Jury Award for Boldness Of Vision: Beyond The Black Rainbow

Best Picture – You’re Next
Best Director – Adam Wingard (You’re Next)
Best Screenplay – Simon Barrett (You’re Next)
Best Actor – Sean Harris (A Lonely Place To Die)
Best Actress – Sharni Vinson (You’re Next)

Best Picture – Milocrorze: A Love Story
Best Director – Noboru Iguchi (Karate Robo Zaborgar)
Best Screenplay – Olafur Egilsson, Grimur Haonarson (Summerland)
Best Actor – Julián Villagrán (Extraterrestrial)
Best Actress – Sawa Masaki (Underwater Love)

Fantastic Fest Creative Director Tim League, Scott Beggs

Best Picture – Clown
Best Director – Steffen Haars, Flip Van Der Kuil (New Kids Turbo)
Best Screenplay – Casper Christensen, Frank Hvam (Clown)

Winner: How To Rid Your Lover Of A Negative Emotion Caused By You (Nadia Litz)
Runner-up: The Unliving (Hugo Lilj)
Special Jury Award for Outstanding Achievement in Special Effects and General Badassery: Brutal Relax (David Muñoz, Rafa Dengrá, Adrián Cardona)

Best Fantastic Short: Decapoda Shock (Javier Chillón)
Runner-up: All Men Are Called Robert (Marc-Henri Boulier)
Special Jury Mention for Acting: Robert Picardo (The Candidate)

Best Animated Short: Last Norwegian Troll (Pjotr Sapegin)
Runner-up: Lazarov (NIETOV)

Eric is the Editor-in-Chief of and writes for The Pitch. He’s former President of the KCFCC, and drummer for The Dead Girls, Ultimate Fakebook, and Truck Stop Love . He is also Air Guitar World Champion Mean Melin. Eric goes to 11. Follow him at:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+ YouTube 

Leave a Comment


Previous post:

Next post: